Opal for eight female voices, which received its premiere in June at the NCH, is having another performance by SoundSet, a new ensemble founded by Laura Kilty and Emma O’Halloran. Details of the concert below:

CMC presents two Christmas Concerts with new vocal group SoundSet on 15 December

The Contemporary Music Centre is delighted to celebrate the Christmas season with two concerts featuring SoundSet, an innovative new ensemble, on 15 December 2010. Both concerts will take place in the Centre’s new platform for performance space on the ground floor of its building in Fishamble Street. Entitled Winter Variations the concerts feature a selection of contemporary Christmas carols by Irish and International composers.

Irish composers Anne Marie O’Farrell, Jane O’Leary and Nick Roth have all written new works specifically for the ensemble and the occasion. Irish composers Stephen Gardner, Piers Hellawell and Solfa Carlile also feature. A call for contemporary carols by the Contemporary Music Centre, through its international networks, has resulted in an international carol by Pawel Lukaszewski of Poland.

SoundSet, under the direction of Laura Kilty and Emma O’Halloran, aims to put on high quality concerts which feature repertoire from a huge variety of musical genres – contemporary, electronic, Renaissance, Baroque and anything well-written and exciting!

“The Contemporary Music Centre is very pleased to provide SoundSet with their first performance opportunity and for SoundSet to be the first ensemble to perform in the Centre’s new platform for performance. We hope this is a sign of many future collaborations for our new space and continuing opportunities for Irish composers to have their work performed” says Karen Hennessy, Promotion Manager, The Contemporary Music Centre.

The first performance on 15 December is at lunchtime, 1pm – 2pm. It is open to the general public and free of charge. Booking is recommended as space is limited. To book tel: 01 6731922 or email info@cmc.ie The second performance is for friends, colleagues and supporters of the Contemporary Music Centre and takes place 6pm – 7pm, followed by a reception.

Programme – Winter Variations

Opal Solfa Carlile

The Mahogany Tree (premiere) Stephen Gardner

Emerodde Piers Hellawell

Two Christmas Motets (Irish premiere) Pawel Lukaszewski

A Winter’s Prayer (premiere) Anne-Marie O’Farrell

Ding, Dong (premiere) Jane O’Leary

Maoz Tsur (premiere) Nick Roth

Comments are closed.

News and Reviews